Defending Your Title

Image

Hello, Friends!

I just wanted to mention again how humbled we are here at BnD’z. For anyone who missed the last blog, let me bring you up to speed: You voted our hot dogs not only one of the Top 40 Fantastic Franks in the nation, but also the best in Pittsburgh. Again, I can’t say it enough, on behalf of myself, my managers and my staff, Thank You!

Talking with one of my managers over the weekend, Scott asked me a question I had been to ecstatic to contemplate: “So what’s next, boss?” I knew what he meant by this rather simple inquiry. BnD’z hasn’t even been open for a year and we’ve achieved so much. We have the most loyal fan base of any restaurant in the area. We’ve achieved national recognition. We’ve been embraced by the community. Where do we go from here?

I put my spatula down and looked Scott dead in the eye. “What’s next? We defend our title.” I must admit, I felt like one of those coaches from any number of Disney movies, you know, like in “Miracle” or “Remember The Titans”. The older veteran, saddled with instilling pride and teamwork in his crew of talented underdogs, taking them all the way to the championship game.

That’s what we were less than a year ago, underdogs. All we had was an idea, a storefront and the desire to put out the best product possible. With hard work, perseverance and a fire in our hearts, we crafted a team of employees that shared our vision. Using another movie analogy, “If you build it, they will come”, we knew that once we opened the doors to BnD’z we had a huge responsibility to our customers to serve the best food at the most competitive prices for our customers….and yes, they showed up….consistently. Again, I can’t say it enough, thank you for that.

Speaking on behalf of the entire team, we will not rest on our laurels. We will continue to “defend our title” against all competition, committed even more than before to providing our guests the best Burgerz & Dogz in the ‘Burgh. It’s flattering to be honored by Urban Spoon, no doubt, but the real award is the acknowledgment of our customers. We won’t let you down!

Leave a Reply

